History of the Milner Chapel
On September 25, 1885 a meeting was held at the home of Robert Norris to plan the construction of a Methodist Church at Langley Prairie. Donations were collected by Henry Davis and Reverend R.J. Wood riding on horseback from Mt. Lehman to Delta. In December the contract was awarded to Thomas Turnbull for the sum of $919.50. The building was dedicated on May 23, 1886 by the Reverend Ebenezer Robson as the Langley Prairie Methodist Church.
On June 10, 1925 as the result of the union between Presbyterian and Methodist churches, it became the Milner United Church. It was at this time that the hall and kitchen were added to the building.
This charming old landmark is one of the oldest standing buildings in Langley. The building was officially designated a heritage site February 7, 1983.
By 1988, the Milner United congregation was dwindling and preliminary discussions were held in May 1990 regarding amalgamating with Fort Langley's St. Andrew's United Church. On September 16, 1990 a report on amalgamation was discussed and approved by the Milner congregation. It was decided that morning services at Milner would be discontinued at the end of September 1990. In 1992, municipality improvements to Glover Road drastically decreased the original property site, leaving it in a state of disarray.
In March 1995, the Milner Community Association was revived and obtained the Milner Church back from the United Church of Canada. The goal of the community association was to restore and maintain the Church as a non-profit, non-denominational chapel, to be used by the community and surrounding areas for weddings, funerals, and special events.